Slutwalk Houston is today!!!

Of course, I am aware of the debates associated with it. An interesting aspect of the Houston Slutwalk is that they want to take time to talk about the problems associated with this new phenomenon. Hopefully that will be well facilitated.

Many of the critiques could be valid. Its hard to know without having been to any of them, because its based on people claiming certain things about race composition. Then a lot of it is focused on the rhetoric. I am not setting aside those critiques, but I also know, its damn easy to be a hater. Its much harder to build something. And I am freaking excited about the Slutwalks because it represents the first broad feminist phenomenon to take place in my life. Something new could arise out of it, something that people could work to make better, to address the problems people have with it.

Anyways, in honor of this day, here are a couple articles I found that focus on issues of sexuality in the new season of True Blood.

This article talks about Tara’s transformation into a cage-fighting lesbian named Toni. I was a little taken aback by this. At first, I was like, this is impossible for someone to go from ostensibly very hetero to being a lesbian. I was skeptical of that thesis that assumes abused women will be “turned off of men.” I dont think it works like that all the time, but it could, I guess. Of course, a year has passed, and maybe there was a lot we didnt know about Tara in the first place. Its unsure though whether they will explore her sexuality any deeper, or if its just an excuse for hot girl-on-girl action on the show.

This article talks about Sookie’s virgin-vamp complex. I didnt pay too much attention to this issue, but they say interesting things. Honestly, though, I am skeptical of Eric Northman’s ability to psychoanalyze Sookie. He doesnt know her that well. They’re trying to develop this thing where he’s really interested in her, and knows her better than Bill, but she’s been gone for a year! Has Eric been investigating her during that time? If I was Sookie, I’d be like, You dont know me, Eric Northman!

xoxo

fatima

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

